I'm finally going to buy a Sims game after 20 years

Doublezero

The only Sims game I ever played was the first game. I enjoyed it but I didn't buy the sequels because I saw EA turning the franchise into a cash grab. But thanks to JoshQ my interest in the game is growing. I know nothing about The Sims sequels, so before I throw money at EA I have a few questions:

• Which version do you recommend?
  • What mods do you recommend?
  • Are mods compatible with all versions?

I could find this information myself but I'm going to be lazy and ask here. 😜

I only played the Sims 4... So I have limited experience (however I have the complete Sims 3 though) 

Origin subscription has both ready to use if you want to give that a try. Then you can determine which one you want for yourself :D  Then unsubscribe if you don't like that. (I have it from a gift so ... )  I would strongly suggest that.. as it is loads of $$$ to get what you need to really start to play to find out you might not be interested in the game after the newness wears off. I know there is going to be hate for advising subscription but you can always walk away anytime.

Mods are subjective. Not enough info. There are adult sex mods for Sims 4 and I am pretty sure for Sims 3 as well as mountains of outfits and such for both.

Sims 3 mods go to Sims 3 and same for Sims 4. Also some mods seem to need various add ons to get it to work properly so that is something to consider.

You're going to have to mod it or the base game will be unplayable.  For Sims4 the devs add effects and behaviors that will make life impossible...and they stack on top of one another.

Sims 4 is to expensive (for what it is) unless you can get a bundle deal where everything is half price.  I was able to get Sims4 deluxe edition, Get To Work and Get Together for about $60.  Everything after that was a waste of money at full price.

AND it's an EA game so you'll be giving your money to pay the bills of woke people.  Food for thought.